Everyone’s Your Friend in New York City: 2013 and Doing Stuff

So, it’s 2013 and I should probably write a blog post. I’ve decided that my new year’s resolution is to do more. I mean, I did a lot in 2012. I graduated from college (ok, that was 2011, but still, December 2011 is essentially 2012, worked for US Bank, came to New York, attended a publishing program at NYU, made a bunch of wonderful new friends, moved to New York with one of said new wonderful friends, got a job, MET JK ROWLING, survived a hurricane, met Matthew Crawley (aka Dan Stevens)…so yeah, 2012 was pretty busy. But thinking about New Years resolutiony things, I thought I could do the usual “eat healthy, work out, lose weight and becomImagee a super model,” but I resolve to do that like every other week. I mean, I live in NEW YORK now, so there’s a lot of stuff to do. And I want to do it.

And, I’m already off to a pretty good start, if I do say so myself. I went out last weekend and had a minor adventure involving a kitschy café in the Village, a bar with a wedding-reception like dance party, and McDonald’s. Also, I decided at the very last minute to get tickets for An Evening of Awesome with John and Hank Green and the Mountain Goats and it was…wait for it….AWESOME. So much awesome. I knew it was going to be fun, but I was not prepared for the amount of fun I had. Neil GAIMAN was there, and he pointed in my general direction, and he said he would literally suck donkey balls. I got to hear the Mountain Goats perform live and I got to sing my favorite Mountain Goats song live with an ENTIRE CARNEGIE HALL OF NERDFIGHTERS. I don’t know how much an ENTIRE CARNEGIE HALL OF NERDFIGHTERS is, but it should be a unit of measure that means, approximately, “a lot”. I then MET the Mountain Goats and discussed with John Darnielle (who is totally the nicest genius ever) how crazy it was that he just performed on the stage where Martin Luther King Jr spoke. And I met some new friends, yay new friends! I honestly have not had that much fun in ages. There’s something about jumping up and down in the very top row with an entire Carnegie Hall of nerdfighters belting out “I am going to make it through this year if it kills me” that just makes you want to not just make it through the year, but keep making it through in this crazy, exciting, action packed fashion. And hopefully that’s what 2013 is going to be.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

