Top 10 Nice Things from the Past 4 Days

The past several days have been insanely busy. We had my brother’s graduation party on Saturday from 1-5, and at midnight we got in the car to drive to New York City (about a 12 hour drive) so I could move into my dorm for NYU’s Summer Publishing Institute. And it’s been pretty non-stop since then. I’m enjoying it, the first two days have taught me a lot, but my brain is overloaded. I’m not sure what to say about the program (or what I can say), so instead, I present a top 10 list, in no particular order, of things I love from the past 4 days:

1. Subway

I forgot how much I love good public transportation. I used to take the bus to work in downtown Cincinnati, and while it wasn’t bad, it was actually really expensive for the lack of convenience. I love the speed and ease of the subway, and I love reading the ads on the subway. I love people watching on the subway, and I swear that the subway is one of the best places to read!

2. Cards Against Humanity

This game is like Apples to Apples, but for horrible people. It was a great bonding game for my roommates and me, as we all seem to have similarly twisted minds. We couldn’t stop laughing the entire time we played; it was great.

3. Street Fairs

Yet another thing we don’t have enough of in Cincinnati. Sunday there were not one but two street fairs going on. One was pretty basic, with booths of interesting wares, but Washington Square had a pretty cool science fair. There was an

inflatable FLYING PENGUIN. Festo has this invention called an AirPenguin that they’re using to explore automation and self-regulation. They hope to find applications to production. And if that fails, they still have synchronized flying penguins.

4. Craft Beers

No explanation necessary. I’ve already found a brilliant little bar across the street with an excellent craft beer selection!

5. Commiserating with Friends

Nothing created new friendships like common panic and terror! My roommates and I started chatting on Facebook together before we got here, and it was a huge relief to find out that they’re just as nervous, confused, and unsure of their work as I am.

6. Being Back in Class

If I know nothing else, it’s how to be a student. It feels good to be back in the classroom and learning things. I knew I missed being in college, but I didn’t think it would feel so great to be back. It’s only for a few weeks, but I’m enjoying it.

7. Local Restaurants

I love finding new, weird, local places to hang out or grab a bite to eat. It’s always an adventure, and I love finding a hidden gem!

8. Driving through mountains

There is something really cool about tunnels through mountains. I like thinking about the amount of work and innovation that went into it…and it’s just neat to be UNDER a mountain. The same goes for tunnels under rivers, too. I’m always impressed by the Lincoln Tunnel.

9. Good Coffee

I’m not a big coffee drinker, but have some choices.

10. New York City

Ok, I know this one is a little corny, but I am just so thrilled to be back in the city. Even though I’m really busy, and even though the only bits of the city I’ve seen so far have been on the way to and from class, I still have to take a minute to marvel at being here. I love the life in this city. I love the crazy things that are going on constantly and the eternal hum of traffic outside my window. I love the diversity and the freedom here. It’s expensive, it’s crowded, and it’s a little intimidating, but it’s also delightful.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Top 10 Nice Things from the Past 4 Days

  1. Madeline

    Yay, I’m glad you’re having such a good time! I’m so jealous of you. I WANT TO SEE FLYING PENGUINS!!!!! Cards Against Humanity sounds like something we should play together. And as far as mountain tunnels go, did you know that you can make a wish right when you start going through the tunnel, and if you can hold your breath all the way through, your wish will come true? šŸ˜‰

    Love you!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

